An independent show guide not a venue or show. All tickets 100% guaranteed, some are resale, prices may be above face value. We're an independent show guide not a venue or show. We sell primary, discount and resale tickets, all 100% guaranteed prices may be above face value. We are an independent show guide not a venue or show. We sell primary, discount and resale tickets, all 100% guaranteed and they may be priced above or below face value.

Jesus Christ Superstar Reviews

Broadway ShowsMusicalsClassicPrestigeMusic-focus

Average customer review: 3.0 star rating (2.9 Stars)

Number of reviews: 162

Page:123456789101112131415161718192021222324All

Sort:

5.0 star rating Jack Barnes from Oswego, New York

JC SUPERSTAR

Get your tickets NOW - 'cuz once the word gets out, you won't find any available anywhere; yes, it's THAT good!! Powerful message with equally powerful music performed by a cast of near-perfect voices in combination with a wonderful set that puts the muscians on top of the action. They all amaze - and soothe every want with respect to matching your memories of the magnificent score with your need to experience those words performed by a cast with great unison in dance and movement while singing this dramatic story. I GUARANTEE that you will experience huge applause - and the absolute and overwhelming stillness associated with near-perfect performances. Go to a play this year - and make sure it is this one...and you will be forever a fan of both the art form and this particular presentation.

5.0 star rating Bob Gookin from Los Angeles, California

THE SUPERSTAR WE NEED RIGHT NOW

I was in fifth grade when I got the album from the Columbia Record Club. My mom let me stay home from school the next day and I played it non-stop, and kept playing it, over and over, eventually wearing it out. I'm not particularly religious, but I was drawn to the politics of Jesus's struggle against the powers that be on behalf of the poor and downtrodden. The new iteration captures this beautifully, updating the story with a high energy modern vibe that kept everything I loved about the album, but made it infinitely more accessible to my teenage daughters. The vocals were very solid - led, of course, by Judas. But Jesus had some wonderful moments, Mary Magdalene was perfect and Caiaphas was stunning. The band was wonderful, the opening guitar riff brought down the house, and the dancers were mesmerizing. Honestly can't think of a time that a dancer brought me to tears, but the lead dancer in this production did just that. Great play, great performance, great night.

5.0 star rating Kevin Woodman from Vancouver, British Columbia Canada

FLASHBACK IN REAL TIME

Captivating from the opening note to the final bow. One of my favourite alt albums from the seventies and this cast didn't disappoint. Considering the success of the original production, this was not an easy feat. A well deserved standing ovation.

5.0 star rating Ted W. from Denver, Colorado

IMPRESSIVE MIX OF CLASSIC AND MODERN - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

In Denver on business and decided to catch this new production after seeing an intriguing video ad in front of the performing arts center. I couldn't be happier. I had the original record as a kid and wore it out along with other rock operas like 'Tommy', 'Quadrophenia', 'Lamb Lies down on Broadway', etc. This show took me back to my bean bag chair with my headphones on in the '70s- guitars, drums, keyboards, saxophones, and the singers... just great. Pretty fast-paced compared to other shows I've seen recently, but that adds to the energy. These dancers would go from 'hippie' dancing to ballet-esque to whirling dervish within a few songs. The set, lighting, and costumes are all very modern to my eye. I have to think about the symbolism of the glitter and the mic stands and cords, but I'm very glad I decided to go. Highly recommended, especially if you grew up listening to the album!

5.0 star rating Jon Workers from Denver, Colorado

FANTASTIC!

A fabulous show from start to finish. The excellent live music set the mood and was true to the original score and album. The musicians were as much a star as the actors. I thought Judas was even better than Jesus (only on stage not in legend) and Caiaphas with his deep, deep voice reverberated right under your skin. The Ensemble danced and sang with energy, yet it sounded like a choir of 50 singers in unison. The solos by Jesus and Mary were superb, but the scene not to miss is the 39 lashes ministered to Jesus by the crowd and intensified by the painful crack-snap of the sound effects. Some nay-sayers have commented on the use of microphones on stage and the guitar wielding Jesus . I found that this interpretation in no way demeaned the story or acting. Give into suspending your disbelief and you will leave having seen a wonderful show. Take your Mother, or your teenage kids. Your'll have something all will talk about on the ride home. Enjoy!

5.0 star rating Walker from Denver, Colorado

TIMELESS AND POWERFUL

Did not disappoint! Amazing music and talented performers. Wish I could see it again. The Denver show was excellent. The show went too fast. Loved every minute, every song and the modern take on this classic show.

5.0 star rating Elaine from Denver, Colorado

SUPER

It was a great way to celebrate the 50th Anniversary, with today's aesthetic mixed with the iconic musical score. Like the original play, this is a modern rendering of the Christ story. The costumes, lighting, and dancing (like the original play) are intentionally drawn from the present. In this case, "urban hipster vibe" was used for the modern aesthetic instead of "1970s hippie vibe" from the original. Evidently some of the other commentors herein, who've shared less than favorable reviews, appear to have been put-off by the contemporary aesthetic (okay I'll admit the man bun wasn't my favorite). But that to me, is and was the point. We aren't viewing this as ancient times, or even more recent history, but through the lens of today. The music, the outstanding performances and signing, and the choreography were all exceptional and true to the original.

5.0 star rating Eric Powell from Baltimore, Maryland

WE LOVED THIS!

What a great time my family had last night. This show created such an emotional environment and sparked priceless family discussion. The performers were so talented, Jesus, Judas and Mary were flawless, and the music was so powerful, I have to say the guitarist and drummer we’re memorable. 5 stars for your powerful rendition of this show.

5.0 star rating Christopher from Minneapolis, Minnesota

INCREDIBLE! 50TH ANNIVERSARY PRODUCTION

Just saw the show last night at the Minneapolis Wow, I love theater and this show did not disappoint. My whole family felt the same as I. The sets, stage and lighting created the best environment to enjoy the story. The music was very powerful as was the voices of the actors. Thank you for this 90 minute adventure we will never forget.

5.0 star rating Charles P from Rochester, New York

GREAT SHOW, GREAT MUSIC, GREAT TIME.

I needed this. What a thrill to see this musical, powerful performances on stage, the actors were so full of energy, I bounced in my seat to the songs. The band was tight, and the drums and guitar were channeling some pure rock and roll. Incredible!

5.0 star rating Joseph Lear from Rochester, New York

LOVED IT

Saw the show in Hartford CT. Beautiful set and a fiery young cast danced and sang so well. The music was very moving as well. I would recommend this 90 minute rendition to families and friends.

5.0 star rating Andy Sadlon from Hartford, Connecticut

PERFECT FOR THE TIMES

Wonderful show. They’ve made the stage and choreography contemporary but stayed true to the original music. The actors and actresses were wonderful musicians, singers and dancers. This might be the best JCS I’ve seen and I’ve seen a lot!

5.0 star rating Norma from Cleveland, Ohio

AMAZING

The music, the set , the performances - The Cleveland Orchestra! Beyond words!

5.0 star rating Pat from Kansas City, Missouri

IT WAS FANTASTIC

I really wanted to see this Show so I traveled to Nashville in March 2020 to see it. It was fantastic! I was thrilled to see that it was scheduled for Kansas City. I hope that the Cast comes back for it because Aaron and James are phenomenal. I became a big fan of James after he performed at the Kauffman Center in the tribute show to Michael Jackson.

5.0 star rating Evan Franks from Portland, OR

JESUS IS BACK, BABY!

I just saw the reopening in Portland 09/28/21. It was so amazing and emotional to be at such an incredible performance after a year and a half of no live theater. The choreography, the sining, the music, the lighting... all of it was amazing. I'm going to try to see it again, lol. Highly recommended!

5.0 star rating DMR from San Francisco, California

FABULOUS PERFORMANCE!

Absolutely brilliant performance of JCS! The acting, dancing, singing, band, set were all fabulous! I have been listening to JSC since 1971 and this is my first time seeing it on stage. I'm going to go again! Thank you to all of you for making this production so enjoyable. Keep going!!!

5.0 star rating Mike from San Francisco, California

BEST VERSION AND CAST

Saw the show three times and every time was perfect. Every cast member on there is so talented.

5.0 star rating Lisa Dion from Boston, Massachusetts

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR

Amazing, 50th anniversary... I tapped my foot, sang under my breath the whole time... if I could have got up and danced I would have... such a great story, show. Music... I teared up, because this has been my favorite music and show since I was a teenager... Thank you Boston Cast.

5.0 star rating Margaret Rogers from Washington, District of Columbia

BRILLIANT! STUNNING! A MUST SEE FOR LOVERS OF MUSICALS, WEBBER, PAST PERFORMANCES.

Got home a couple of hours ago after seeing this at Ken Cen Feb 24, 2022. Anyone who loved this in this past from early 1970s when first appeared and any one too young to have seen those past performances but love theater should see! I found it breathtakingly fantastic! In the 70s and 80s I think I listened to the soundtracks 5000 times - maybe only 500 - but I loved the music/lyrics and voices that much! I found the current performance at KenCen brilliant. The leads had stunning voices, even better than those I remember from the past. I am buying my 2nd ticket before it leaves KenCen to again enjoy this overwhelmingly extraordinary performance & voices!

5.0 star rating from Kansas City, Missouri

JESUS CHRIST SUPER...PHENOMENAL!!!

Still can't sleep!!! Show was so AMAZING! Still can't get this "Show" off my mind! Lucky enough to go opening night!!! WOW!!!

5.0 star rating Rachel Deering from Dallas, Texas

FABULOUS REVIVAL OF A MASTERPIECE!

I LOVED IT! Might as a well say, first and foremost, if you cannot open your mind to embrace Jesus with a modern-day hairstyle and original bold artistic ideas mixed with a classic, then don’t go! The music, orchestra, choreography, costumes and cast were all top notch in my opinion. They didn’t mess with the music - it was exactly as I remembered listening to all those songs over and over until I knew all the words by heart. That is primarily what this show is - music! No talking. With a fresh approach, 50 years later. This 60 year old absolutely loved it!!!!

5.0 star rating Daniel Stewart from Dallas, Texas

BEATS ALL OTHERS I’VE SEEN

I’ve seen JCS performances in four countries and a few productions on Broadway. I was left stunned by this performance. From start to finish, this ensemble brought an energy to every moment end-to-end. I truly mean stunning. By bringing the basics back to the show, and with some very unique ways of using glitter, they told the story in a meaningful way. It is also the first time I’ve seen a man playing a portion of Mary’s role for the forehead of the Jesus character. There were a few subtle and not so subtle twists placed perfectly, once again bringing this performance to a modern day element without alienating modern day racism, bigotry or homophobia. I landed at DFW and goggled “Dallas tonight” and this show popped up. Grabbed a single ticket on Ticketmaster in the 5th row center orch and went on an unexpected journey. The theatre itself was very nice and comfortable and Dallas should be proud of what they have for their residents and visitors. I leave Dallas Wednesday and have two shows on Broadway to attend in NYC this week. I’m glad that Dallas set the bar. Well done and I thank the cast of this show for brightening my stay in this city. You’re dynamite.

5.0 star rating Marc Nicholson from Atlanta Geoirga

REVERENCE

I enjoyed this show A LOT! The songs are a part of my soul and you could feel the joy of others that this music has touched. I thought the choreography was brilliant. Form many of the reviews there are some grumpy out there. This music was the only way I understood the story of the Bible. The mikes were weird and I love the horror of the audience in the man bun. The voices were great and the music supernatural. I liked the voices better than the album and I have listened to this music 179.785 times and may listen tonight for the second time. I came to the computer to see if I could buy this version. There was a lot more good than bad. No-one in the world hates a man bun more than me and I overlook it because I love this music with my heart. I think you should go and enjoy it as I did.

5.0 star rating Patricia Morris from Atlanta, Georgia

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR GLITTERS AT THE FABULOUS FOX

Coming from Community Theater, I know some-very-small-something about pulling off an extravaganza. The director/stage manager/tech/orchestra/actors/choreographer must jive on a level that memorizes an audience. This show is excellent on all fronts. Clever ideas with the mics...there is even a 'drop mic' moment...and the Pharisees scepter/mic combo...genius! When you have actors that go from a ballad to a rock star screech, one must only imagine the time involved with the vocal coach. Gethsemane was the best scene I have ever witnessed in my many previous show experiences. The glittering of Jesus during '39' was above imaginative and spoke to what the audience needed at this point...personally I felt that as a Christian I had some vindication at this Kingly gesture. JCSS was Just positively brilliant from start to finish. Standing OVATION to ALL of you!

5.0 star rating Julie L. from Richmond, Virginia

POWERFUL AND MODERN

The voices were amazing, can’t get use to the high quality of these actors in the Broadway series. good use of limited stage space. Loved the dystopic feel of the costumes, styling and set, made it quite modern yet timeless. Brings the story to life, fabulous.

5.0 star rating P. Kida from Richmond, Virginia

JC SUPERSTAR

Great talent, choreography wonderful! Cant say enough about how artistic and showcase of talent. I have seen many, many shows of JC superstar, perhaps one of my favorite plays to see!

5.0 star rating L.T. from Somewhere, KY

FINAL 2022 JCS DAYTON OHIO PERFORMANCE

Words are inadequate; from the cast to the crew to the band of very talented musicians and singers, this offering was superb. I was never a man-bun hoodie wearing person but this ensemble showed the audience that it will always be about the content of the experience and the story and not solely dependent on the appearance of its players……that said, the set was amazing! 2👍up! 😊

5.0 star rating Robin from Toledo, Ohio

GREAT

I was blown away!! Seen original movie with Ted Neeley several times and plays. Jack Hopewell was magnificent. I only want to say took my breath away. Please let all performers they were great!! I would see again in a heartbeat. Thank u. Made me forget about everything else.

5.0 star rating Abby from Cedar Falls, Iowa

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR

Watching the performance for the first time, was blown away by the talent of the cast. From start to finish was captivating in the story of Jesus Christ through the gospels. Jesus had an immense vocal range that rang through the audiences ears well after the show. I was so impressed, and the set was beyond impressive for the space given. To take a step back into time with a rock and roll twist, was well worth getting the ticket for this performance.

5.0 star rating JLT from Vancouver, British Columbia

JC SUPERSTAR: POWERFUL!

Incredible choreography, voices and music. High energy and so very moving. I was emotionally drained afterwards. Just...wow!

5.0 star rating Joann Rossi from Los Angeles, California

BEST ONE EVER

My fifth time seeing this show over the years. It really was a true rock opera. The music and the lyrics of course amazing but something new was added to this version. Dancing was incredible. They had so much energy, so creative in every way. Was totally surprised and in awe of the choreography. Each song was perfectly matched to the performer’s voice. If you are a fan, please don’t miss this show. It is a triple WOW!!

5.0 star rating Sheila C. from Sacramento, California

EXHILARATING

I was so excited knowing I was going to see my favorite soundtrack in person. From the moment Judas ( Elvis Ellis) sang Heaven On Their Minds, I was riveted. The talent in this production is amazing. Jesus Christ ( Jack Hopewell) was perfect . Faith Jones as Mary Magdalene was superb. It flowed perfectly from moment to moment. I was prepared for the more modern costumes( sweatshirts, hoodie) because I saw the John Legend version on tv. Honestly, the story and talent was so overwhelming the clothing was secondary. The Safe Credit Union Theater doesn’t have a bad seat. I wish I could have seen it again before it left. Amazing, emotional, simply fantastic.

5.0 star rating Christine Milroth. from North Charleston, South Carolina

AMAZING

An amazing show with amazing singers everyone of them. The dancers were great. The orchestra amazing. Worth every dollar and more.

5.0 star rating Darlene Duffy from North Charleston, South Carolina

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR

Saw movie back in 70's. Definitely much more modern, mucic and dancing was superb. Singing was spectacular.Grest show definitely worth seeing.

5.0 star rating Jackee Jackson from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

A MUST SEE!!!!!!

Well, my mom, sister, sister-in-law and my daughter took me out to one of favorite productions for my birthday. The cast was AMAZING!!!!!!! I remember listening to my dad's Jesus Christ Superstar album growing up and I fell in love with the music. It's so POWERFUL!!!!! I also took my daughter to see this production when she was just 4 y.o. I couldn't believe that it was that special to her that she thought to take me for my birthday 22 years later!!!!!! JACK HOPEWELL, ELVIE ELLIS, FAITH JONES, GRANT HODGES, NICHOLAS HAMBRUCH, KODIAK THOMPSON, BRETT HENNESSEY JONES, ERICH W. SCHLECK, COLIN ROBERTSON, ETHAN HARDY BENSON, JOSHUA BESS, JORDAN WESLEY BROWN, JAHLIL M. BURKE, COOPER CLACK, EMMA COOK, KALEI COTECSON, LYDIA EKU, SAVANNAH FISHER, DOMANICK ANTON HUBBARD, HALEY HUELSMAN, JEREMY MAKANA HURR, LENA MATTHEWS, HOSEA MUNDI, L'ORÉAL ROACHÉ, DARREN JAMES ROBINSON AND LAUREN SOTO......I WOULD LIKE TO THANK YOU ALL FOR A VERY MEMORABLE EVENING!!!!!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!

5.0 star rating Dave Parmiter from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

GREAT PRODUCTION AND MUSICAL PERFORMANCE

I have seen this performed on stage (off broadway) for 48 years and this was the best choreography and musical performance I have seen. Vocals were excellent with a few exceptions that got somewhat pitchy in I don’t know how to love him, but male leads came through at the big moments. Honestly, I didn’t care for the movie, and thought the television production was embarrassingly bad, so I loved that this was a really well done, accurate to the original broadway cast, production.

5.0 star rating Rudy from San Antonio, Texas

JCS

beautiful ;choreography 'cast are phenomenal loved it not 5 stars more like10

5.0 star rating Mary from Fresno, California

WONDERFUL

My husband saw original 50 years ago . I saw somewhat later. This production is very good. We enjoyed it all. Interpretation slightly different from years ago but still wonderful.

5.0 star rating Cindy Wiechmann from Fresno, California

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC

Saw this rendition of one of my favorite if not favorite shows last night. I have seen Ted Neeley (Jesus) and Carl Anderson (Judas) in the stage version of the original rock opera several times (as well as seeing the movie a million times) and was looking forward to this version. It did not disappoint. It stayed pretty much in step with the original rock opera with a modern kind of hip hop/modern dance twist. The vocals were amazing as well as the set design. The live music was amazing. Go with an opened mind and you will really enjoy the show! ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC !!

5.0 star rating Sgs from Denver, Colorado

JCS

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed this production. The show was powerful with the excellent singing, dancing, lighting, and set design. The use of props was very clever and the band was outstanding. Great production to honor the 50th Anniversary!

5.0 star rating Kim Hassinger from Hershey, Pennsylvania

PHENOMENAL SHOW!

This was the third time that I have seen Jesus Christ Superstar. This performance was by far the most amazing. All of the cast were so talented, and the choreography was unbelievable. I had chills several times throughout the show. I wish I could have personally congratulated the entire cast. Bravo! I highly recommend this show!

5.0 star rating Suzanne from Hershey, Pennsylvania

JC SUPERSTAR

I came to the show having seen it live 50 years ago in Chicago. Didn't imagine it could measure up. Measure up it did! Fantastic! I don't understand the folks complaining about plot lines etc. Guess the same controversy still exists about it today as it did all those years ago. At that time, I was told it was blasphemous. A very moving performance.

5.0 star rating from Rochester, New York

PHENOMENAL!

I’ve been a fan of the soundtrack since I was 10…. This performance did not disappoint! You don’t have to be a “religious” person to enjoy this show. The actors where incredible and had me mesmerized, right down to the ensemble performers (and guitar players in the scaffold).

5.0 star rating Patricia C. from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

EXCELLENT!

Fantastic performance! Jesus had the most amazing voice and his s performance had me in tears! All the cast was excellent!!

4.0 star rating Jimmy Atkinson from Las Vegas, Nevada

THIS JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR MAKES YOU THINK ABOUT SOCIETY

People’s need to link a person to a higher power. Wow this show’s portrait of Jesus is powerful. The music was powerful. I missed some of the words but I feel they were creating an environment for the audience to feel swept up in. It felt like a 90 minute roller coaster ride. The ending is haunting.

4.0 star rating M. Morris from Denver, Colorado

JUST WANTED TO RECOMMEND TO FAMILIES

I really enjoyed this production. The music has always been a favorite of mine ever since I was a kid. Having studied religion in my youth and now having the wisdom of age I was again moved to experience compassion. This modern version is clever but the message is still the same. I liked the stage setting and seeing and hearing the music being performed. The performers were so talented. I hope others feel as I do, and by the reaction of last nights performance and the standing ovation...well I think so. With all the negativity in this world I have to say that I walked away feeling I treated myself to something special. Thank you to all those involved.

4.0 star rating Tom McCollum from Denver but live in NC

LOVED IT

Saw it in Denver on 29 November and really loved it. This was the first time I saw it though listened to the album years ago over and over. I thought the performers of Judas and Mary stole the show. What powerful voices with crystal clear range, and I haven’t even mentioned the passion they put into their parts. I would encourage folks to see it but you have to have an open mind. This is not a typical rendition of the last days of Christ but still just as powerful nonetheless.

4.0 star rating Barb from Detroit, Michigan

GOOD PLUS BUT NOT GREAT.

Either the mixing was uneven or Jesus and Judas needed to be more emotional. Mary and Harrod were great. Choreography was definitely worth it.

4.0 star rating Shaunn Day from Rochester, New York

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR IN ROCHESTER

I see in other reviews about Jesus and Pilot with guitars Yes I don't think it was needed. I did like the drop of the mic and the flogging part. I have seen JCS with Ted Neely but this does not compare. I did love the vocals . I'm glad I did go see it

4.0 star rating Laurie Rejzer from Portland, Oregon

SO CLOSE TO EXCEPTIONAL!

Just saw Superstar last night at the Keller. This show has some amazing moments that highlight near perfect vocals & dynamic (but at times distracting) choreography all riding on a rock foundation from a stellar band. I had 2 main issues: 1. While the vocals were pitch perfect. I missed the passion, intensity, and raw rock emotion. “Get out, they’re waiting!” “Alright! I’ll die! See how I die!” “…You have made it a den of thrives! Get out!” This Jesus just sings the notes.. There is no real rock intensity. And Judas feels much the same.. glorious vocals, but it’s too clean, too pretty for a man so tortured. Where’s the fire? The chaos in his vocals? Two words: Murray Head. 2. The whole show was rushed. There were no pauses for us to let a song simmer.. ends of phrases were often cut short, or barely spoken (pilate’s dream). the overture was rushed, just felt very hurried. Caiaphas was the best I’ve ever seen. Look, Voice, presence. Loved the Judas/Jesus sit down to close the show.

4.0 star rating JKFC from San Francisco, California

AN ENTERTAINING EVENING

Iv'e seen 3 professional productions of JCS in my lifetime: One that blew me away, one that was a joke, and this tour which I'd say is in the middle. The quality of the voices and the orchestration is exceptional. The ensemble danced their butt off! Mary was solid, Judas was a bit too one note (very intense but what a voice!), but Jesus was aloof and did not seem connected (except for his last song, which he nailed!). The rest of the cast was great. It was staged on a unit set depicting a dilapidated. multi-level, steel-beam building that "just happened" to have a section broken off in the shape of a cross. Direction wise, it missed cohesiveness and there were some really strange glitter choices and way too many "trying to be clever" microphone moments, but overall the music and the spirit of the songs was there and if you grew up listening to this rock opera, you will find yourself bopping to awesome grooves. I'm happy I saw it, now someone please help get the songs out my head!

4.0 star rating Therese Brannon from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR

Saw this show in Milwaukee. The new Judas, understudy(?) Was intense and brilliant. Jesus actor started slow but got powerful midway through. The dancers were incredible as were the High priests. Live shows such as this are difficult keeping momentum. But this was thoroughly enjoyable. The bad reviews are perplexing. Mary was a tiny presence with a good strong voice. Judas and priests and herod as well( absolutely) pilot were terrific.

4.0 star rating Pat Ennis from Memphis, Tennessee

DOES NOT MEASURE UP TO 70’S

I was so excited to get tickets to Jesus Christ Superstar at the Orpheum in Memphis Tn! My husband and I loved loved the movie in the 70’s with Ted Neely! I was so disappointed in the play! The only one measuring up to the task was Mary Madeline. Jesus was strong but not close to Neely! It was much too much for the girl who played Judas, nowhere coming close to the movie! I could not understand much of her singing even with my knowing the lyrics well! The music was WONDERFUL! The props were good but not particularly impressive! The dancers were amazing ! Again, perhaps I would have given a better review had I not loved the 70’s movie so! We sat in mezzanine which is our favorite place to sit. My husband had given me a sizable gift certificate to the Orpheum before Covid. We were delighted that it was honored. However, in order to redeem gift certificates required purchasing tickets in person, not on line or by phone which was very inconvenient! We had an amazing meal at Majestic!

4.0 star rating Meg from Fort Worth, Texas

BEAUTIFUL SHOW, CAN'T UNDERSTAND THE WORDS

My mother and I saw this together and we were in awe by the whole show. The performances were amazing, the costumes spoke so much about each character, and the lashing scene made my jaw drop! The actors all sung their hearts out, and thankfully you can still tell that despite the audio of the show drowning out most of the lyrics. I loved everyone's performance and wish I could buy a recording of them all singing so I can properly enjoy their voices! If you don't mind not understanding the lyrics, everything else is stunning, I wish I could see it all over again ❤️

4.0 star rating Anne from Vancouver, British Columbia

LOVED TO SEE IT AGAIN 50 YEARS LATER!

Went with my daughter and had a very enjoyable evening. First off, the singing was fantastic, although I thought the pacing in the beginning was a bit rushed. There are a lot of words and emotion in Judas' first number and it wouldn't have hurt for him (or the director) to have slowed that number down a little. I wasn't sure if Jesus had enough "presence" in the first part of the show, he seems to be just standing around at times, waiting for his next number - but his singing in later numbers, particularly "Gethsemene" - wow. The famous high G's were still musical notes, not just screeches. Secondary cast members were also impressive - particulary Caiaphas - who was very charismatic (in a sinister way) in the role. His baritone would not be rushed and the effect was very centering. Mary Magdalene's character is a mature, soothing, almost maternal presence, versus a love-struck young girl - and I thought this was effective, if less romantic. At first I was a bit put off by the cast members playing guitars and carrying mics around, but got used to it and even found it quite effective. It does mean there is less capacity for "acting" and more of a rock concert vs musical theatre feel, but apparently this is what they were going for, as per original intent. The high energy component that might be missing from the more singing-centred performances of the main cast members is provided by the dancers who are a constant, at times almost frenetic, presence and carry the narrative in an alternate way. Judas played his role well and the non-traditional addition at the end brought a bit of closure to what has always be a bit of an "unfinished" feel to the story, given there isn't a resurrection. The set, although static, was very creative and effective. All in all, great singing and dancing in a somewhat less theatrical version of this classic

4.0 star rating Marilyn from Vancouver, British Columbia

HARD TO SURPASS THE ORIGINAL

A lot of soul put into this musical. I felt Jesus wasn't the powerful character he needed to be in the beginning but he picked up steam. Interesting set and costumes kind of brought it into "modern times". This is a timeless musical and I feel like it lacked some of the lustre that made me love it from the beginning. All the singers were great.

4.0 star rating Karen Swantek from New Brunswick, New Jersey

GREAT CONCERT BUT WISH THERE WAS MORE ACTING

The singing and music were phenomenal. This is my favorite score and they did it more than justice. That being said, I felt more like I was at a fantastic concert than a play. With the exception of Judas, there was very little acting. I felt like the singers did not, for the most part, connect with the lyrics at all, kind of like when you say the National Anthem - you know it so well that you don’t think about what you are saying. I enjoyed the dancing, and the creative set, etc., but would have liked to see some bonding of characters. I literally felt almost nothing, and that is not what you want from this material at all. Also, personal pet peeve, Jesus was weak and whiny, though he had some solid moments at the end. His singing was fantastic. Wish they would lose the guitar, and the mikes. I know it was intentional, but I did not like it. I would love to see a strong Jesus in this role. I did have a great time though, as this was a fantastic opportunity to hear this score live and to hear it done so amazingly.

4.0 star rating Kathy from Tampa, Florida

GREAT UNTIL THE END

From the first song I loved it. I loved the midern take and the music. But,at the end I really missed the resurrection and a final great version of th title song, a finale of sorts. It made it feel incomplete, not just to me but to the audience around me who were unsure if that was the end until the lights went back on and the cast took their bows. So many great moments and vocals though. Overall loved it.

4.0 star rating from Tampa, Florida

JJESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR

This was my favorite rendition of JCSS! Great modern choreography of the original. Loved Jesus in Gethsemane and King Herod! The Last Supper scene was amazing. The only drawback I thought was the use of microphones throughout which seemed to muffle some of the wordings of the songs even though it was a symbolism. The Straz in Tampa never disappoints.

4.0 star rating Kathy Shelton from Lexington, Kentucky

OVERALL GREAT PERFORMANCE

The singing & dancing was amazing! The man who played Judas was unforgettable; And the energy & professionalism of the dancers was an adrenaline rush for the audience. Always a fan, I’ve seen it about 5 times with various characters. One criticism I would offer is the way it ended. The audience obviously fell silent & expected more. We were waiting for his appearance after the resurrection because it’s true to the story, instead Jesus & Judas just calmly sat down & looked at us. It just didn’t fit. Also the Jesus character needed to be a little more ethereal & charismatic to make it more believable that hordes would follow him. The woman who played Mary could have been a little more “ stand out” as well.

3.0 star rating Carolyn from Las Vegas, Nevada

DISAPPOINTING

This is my 5th show. This and the recent TV version were by far the worst. Costuming, presentation and singing were subpar. The instrumental music saved the show. None can compete with the version I saw 50 years ago.

3.0 star rating Buddy from Nashville, Tennessee

JUST NOT THE SAME

I have high expectations for this Rock Opera. Having seen Ted Neeley and Carl Anderson several times on tour, one just always will have that 'similar' feel; however, realizing there is no comparison to those icons - - but can you at least try to come close? Folks this is supposed to be of Broadway caliber. Broadway, I’ll say it one more time - Broadway…. Big shoes, big expectations. Sorry this review is harsh – First the orchestra was simply - perfection - the music was EXACTLY as the original, never missing a note or beat. Can't quite say the same for the play itself. I realize this ensemble is trying to bring a freshness and modern feel, but why? Why does Jesus have a top knot? Why is he playing the guitar during Gethsemane? It was so distracting and completely took away from what is one of the most powerful, stunning, beautiful and emotional songs of the play. Give the actor the ability to act, not perform. And what of these 'moves' by Caiaphas, Annas and the priests? It looked like a slow death while pole dancing their staffs. (no pun intended) Finally, for the not so good. The actor playing Pilate...? whaaa?? I am hoping the actual Pilate was sick and this was his understudy. He was nervous maybe. Very meek, almost just read the words and didn’t really sing. Again, Pilates dream, another powerful, mesmerizing songs. Just left as a dry twig in the dust. No one cared, no one got the emotion. There were glimmers of some real good stuff from Jesus and Judas. Once or twice they each had incredible moments in vocals. The audience immediately woke and started to sing in awe. But then it just went away. Left us all in a downward spiral, left hanging. It was a tease, a sample of what they could really do….and it never came back. The actress Mary Magdalene: beautiful performances; Caiaphas and Annas, superb vocals. Caiaphas, that low growling voice, countered by Annas high pitch - nice. Finally, the Judas hanging?? Can you at least pretend to hang something? Not just dangle an empty rope? And the glitter on Jesus while he was being flogged.... still don’t get that one. It's not all bad, if you love this classic Rock Opera, it's entertaining. Be prepared for less excitement, average choreography, and an awkward crucifixion and just as awkward curtain call. I looked forward to this night all week, and I just left empty, kinda jipped, as did a lot of folks in listening to the disappointment while leaving the theater. However, The orchestra alone is worth the price of the ticket, Bravo!

3.0 star rating Jessica Allen from Seattle, Washington

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR

Unfortunately, something seemed to be off with the speakers or microphones... I could not understand 90% of what anyone was saying... It had a great melody, and the choreography was great, but it lost a lot of its luster by not being able to understand them. I have never seen this show before, so I didnt know the songs or words. I just really wish I would have been able to understand them.

3.0 star rating Mauricio Perez from Seattle, Washington

FANTASTIC PLAY, LEADING ACTORS JUST SING, BUT DON'T ACT

Splendid singer who don't act on the leading roles make me rate the play with 3 stars only. This is not a recital, but a rock opera, songs should be performed and this was missing. Perhaps Judas defended himself on this aspect by the end of the play. The poor histrionics of Mary Magdalene and Jesus made two of the most important numbers lackluster: I Don't Know How to Love Him was sung with a beautiful voice but no feelings whatsoever. The same with the most dramatic aria of the play: Gethsemani. It was a bad idea to make Jesus play his own guitar while singing this piece, especially for a singer who doesn't act, the guitar hanging from his neck made it impossible to make of it as dramatic as it should be. Ingenious scourging and moving and beautiful crucifixion. 5 stars to the stage, the illumination, the choreography, the adaptation of the Sanhedrin numbers and to Tommy Sherlock (Pilate). I would watch it again for sure.

3.0 star rating Alyce HOGE from San Francisco, California

JC SUPERSTAR

Found it very interesting but did not understand the end. The choreography was weird and distracting. Didn’t like Jesus with a man-bun nor the athleisure wear costumes - hoodies and workout clothes. Use of glitter for the flogging was also weird. Left disappointed.

3.0 star rating Conad from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

SEND IN REPLACEMENT JUDAS !

Lead Judas actor got nabbed for trying to overthrow the government (U.S. not Roman Empire - what would Pontius Pilate have done with him ?)

3.0 star rating MSMartinez from Boston, Massachusetts

JUST SO-SO

Three of us attended, all expecting to love the show; sadly, we did not. Music was good. Dancing was great. But the storytelling left something to be desired. It was choppy, with key plot lines depicted vaguely. (We know the story of Christ very well. If we were lost at certain points, I can't imagine how someone who doesn't know the story could ever follow along!) Unfortunately, the band drowned out much of the lyrics. We had great seats (dress circle, center, row A), so there's no reason we should not have heard every word. Vocals were muffled by an overabundance of bass, which also impacted the storytelling. The set design was fabulous--could not have been better. The show itself could have been, however. Glad we went. Just wish we enjoyed it more.

3.0 star rating Sister Clara Mae from Cleveland, Ohio

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR ON SUPER BOWL SUNDAY

I was invited so I only paid to park to witness this play. I saw the play in 1973 with Ted Neeley. Jesus, Mary and others were not stated performers. No notice of this in program. This play mocks its title. Jesus is rarely standing up and I did not know he played guitar. Silver glitter now is blood when you whip someone and Hered could be mistaken for Beetlejuice or the Joker. I was told he sang, all I heard was screaming. I believe the dancing was more prized than acting and singing overall. At the end this play says Jesus you are dead. I guest this story was a sad funeral then. I miss you Ted Neeley! The 3 stars are for the orchestra performance. They were 5 stars!! This was a magnificent staging and first class but Jesus was not the star of this play but mocked and played as weak and pathetic. The actor sounded like a squealing pig when he screamed in the garden scene. On the cross, direction was to whine like a baby loudly and whisper his lines. PS Mary sat with Jesus last supper.

3.0 star rating John Christie MD from Annapolis, MD

HIGHS AND LOWS

Wife’s favourite show. Some superb voices. Some superb music. Jesus wandering around with a guitar, odd at times. Dancers scurrying about at times. DO NOT see this show without earplugs - it’s cruelly punishingly loud. NO intermision is cruel for older patrons.

3.0 star rating Trina Newnam from Dallas, Texas

SONGS BUT NO STORY

They sang all the songs but didn't tell the story. If you had not already seen the play somewhere else, you would not know what was happening or why. Very hard to hear Judas for both myself and my granddaughter. She said she didn't get any of his words. Dancing was great, stage again great. I didn't care for the ending, just sat there?

3.0 star rating Melissa W. from DFW, Texas

HAND MICS RESTRICT ACTORS' PERFORMANCES; KUDOS TO PERFORMERS.

I attended the perforance at Fair Park in Dallas on April 16, 2022. I love JCS - like many who "grew up" with the album and/or the movie, the rock opera is part of my life's soundtrack. So, I had a lot of hope when a friend invited me to see the "reimagined" JCS at Fair Park in Dallas on April 16, 2022. I am a Christian, and this was the third professional performance of JCS that I have attended, the first two with Ted Neely serving in the JCS role that is so familiar to many. This is not easy for me to say, but the three-star rating for the performance that I saw in Dallas is rather generous. Sadly, the questionable production choices left me more distracted than enamoured. At the performance that I attended, everyone except Peter (I believe) used a HAND MIC. A HAND mic! Wait - isn't this Dallas BROADWAY?! The key characters carried their hand mics and/or mic stands about on stage throughout the performance As a consequence of this production's non-hands-free audio direction, the "acting" by any of the primary characters was SERIOUSLY compromised and stifled. The cast even shared mics, with the exception of "Peter," who did not appear to be using a hand mic (scratching my head). And "Jesus's" mic "crapped out" 2-3 times. The stage at the Music Hall at Fair Park is not a particularly large stage. With one exception (the cross on which "Jesus" is crucified), the show's set is not dynamic and there are no scene changes, and for these reasons, the performers really needed an opportunity to move in more expressive ways. Clearly, the cast was well-experienced and very talented-just read the program. But while holding his mic in his hand, Aaron LaVigne as "Jesus" seemed to be meandering and lost and without a lot of expression or heart--more like a high school production--until the crucifixion (when he did not have a hand mic because, well, his character was being crucified-his hands were not available!). And "Jesus" spent an inordinate amount of time putting on a guitar, taking it off, putting it on, taking it off, leaving us wondering whether it was just an odd prop - and it was - or whether he was going to use it. EVENTUALLY (mid-show) "Jesus" played guitar in a background role at one point and later performed a song while playing the guitar and singing into a mic on a mic stand. Hmmmm. LaVigne is definitely talented, but I would have loved to have seen him "firing all cylinders" in his role--especially in the first third of the show. I think the fact that he was "handcuffed" to a hand mic throughout 98% of his performance--not his fault--really quashed his ability to "shine." Even the character of "Jesus" needs to be theatrical, and by that I do not mean that he has to perform like he is in "The Music Man," but rather that even "Jesus's" encounters with others could have been more expressive without a hand mic. In my view, the only mic-in-hand performance that rose to a Broadway-level of excellence was that of Paul Louis Lessard as "King Herod." Lessard's performance was captivating, invigorating, and exuberant! Yes, Herod's song is high-octane, but many of the other performances would have benefited if they had been executed with Lessard's spunk and punch. Now, lest you say, "Maybe they were dealing with an audio issue," two facts lead me to discredit that theory. First, "Peter" did not use a hand mic and "Jesus" did not use one while he was being crucified. Moreover, the ensemble used mics on micstands that bore lighted crosses, so the use of mic stands appears to have been "by design." The choreography was quite "in unison," which rendered it high-schoolish and lackluster, but the performers (ensemble and other characters) executed their vocal and movement art with exceedingly high precision. Very nicely done, Team JCS -- kudos! To be fair, I have not seen any other productions of the the "reimagined" JCS, so if all companies are following a singular production directive, my criticism spreads as broadly. However, in my somewhat lengthly life to date, I have seen dozens of Broadway (NYC) and touring performances, and I have NEVER seen something like the hand-mic conundrum of this production. It was exceedingly distracting, and my friend who also attended had the same complaints. I surmise that the truly odd audio-related direction (i.e., no head mics) for this performance likely arose from a budgeting issue that did not allow for proper Broadway-level audio equipment. That is not the performers' fault or issue. To be clear, except for the "Jesus" mic glitches, the audio was well-engineered. And, in all fairness, there were definite positives during the performance in spite of the audio-input (i.e., hand mic) distractions. 1. An excellent live band (although I did not love some of the synth substitutions, and their placement on set was also distracting). 2. Great talent - the cast and ensemble as a whole earn five stars, with gold "super" stars (sorry-just had to) going to Omar Lopez-Cepero ("Judas"), Jenna Rubaii ("Mary"), Alvin Crawford ("Caiaphas"), and Tommy Sherlock ("Pilate"). Again, had all of the performers been unleased from their hand-mic "handcuffs," we could have enjoyed so much more of their obvious talents. The saving graces for this production are the JCS music and lyrics of Rice/Webber, which will carry any performance of JCS as long as the musical performers have skills. Indeed, I would be willing to pay and listen to talented people seated on barstools in front of mics on mic stands, you know, just LISTEN to the music and performances -- but that is not what we paid for in this instance. In a nutshell, the production of the show was more Dallas and less Broadway, but that criticism does not extend to the cast of performers. Still JCS is a great show, and I would recommend any newcomer to JCS to see it at least once. And my criticism of the performance I saw will not deter me from seeing it again.

3.0 star rating from Indianapolis, Indiana

MEH

I've loved the music for 60 years. This is the 4th stage production I've seen and my least favorite. While the music was spot on and the performers were alright, there was NO passion. The singing was so lackluster. Very disappointed. Also, I was not a fan of the choreography. It was more like an aerobic workout video! I did like the stage set and the more modern design.

3.0 star rating Elaine from Fort Worth, Texas

COULD NOT UNDERSTAND JUDAS AT ALL.

Beautiful production and the choreography was great but it is hard to get in to a show when you cannot understand the lyrics … had to bring them up on my phone to follow the show. Jesus was understandable but Judas … a very important part of the show … could not get a word.

3.0 star rating Phil from Fort Worth, Texas

UNHEARD OF

Bass Hall Fort Worth location. Couldn't understand one word that was said/sung.

3.0 star rating from Calgary, Alberta

CALGARY SHOWING A DISAPPOINTMENT

Very few of the cast seemed emotionally invested in the characters they portrayed . Having to hold microphones likely prohibited the actors from using all their physicality in expressing their emotion. The rock band overwhelmed the vocals even in the most intense portions of the performances . Judas death scene …. Disappointing . Christs crucifixion confusing . Exoected much more from a production of this caliber

3.0 star rating Darryl Mackie from Vancouver, British Columbia

HIGH NOTES - MORE LIKE SCREAMING

My daughters and I took in this performance. Loved the music but found some of the lyrics incomprehensible, to the point where we all agree that subtitles, such as employed at operas, would have made sense? The actors portraying Jesus and Judas both could have edited their foray's into the high notes - sadly what should be music ends up just being some screaming. This might be OK once in the performance to give emphasis to a particular scene but its repeated use through out just dulled the senses. Surely that is the director's job to keep that in check. Herod's sole song was a highlight, as was Mary's "I Don't Know how to Love Him"

3.0 star rating Harvey from Vancouver, British Columbia

JC SUPERSTAR - QUEEN ELIZABETH THEATER VANCOUVER

Acting was great; cast was spot on. Acoustics though? Terrible. Only hear 50% of the lyrics. I thought I was the only one until my girlfriend also said the same as well as those seated near me. Not sure if the production was using their own gear vs QE house system but recommend they look into that. Not enjoyable for the price of the ticket if the cast can't be heard what they are singing.

3.0 star rating S hansson from Vancouver, British Columbia

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR

Not My favorite. as many have said, it was very difficult to make out the words. i have been to the QE enough to know it is not the acoustics of the venue. We were a group of five and I had the most positive view, they really did not like it. The major songs did not have the passion behind them that Andrew Lloyd Webber's usually have. The ending was blah. I did enjoy parts of it a lot= there was a lot of humour (although it felt a bit odd to laugh at times. The romans, and herod, Pilot -all great. The leads were very good. just missed some mark and left you wanting. I agree the glitter was weird.

3.0 star rating J. McClure from Houston, Texas

JSC HOUSTON 2023

I would give it 3 1/2 stars but that's not an option. I have seen this play about a dozen times including in New York City back in 2012. Music was great. Dancing was great. Singing was average (a few characters were great). My daughter and I both agreed the guitars by both JSC & Peter were not necessary and the use of microphones with stands was really weird since musicals have been using headsets for years now. Stage / props were below average

3.0 star rating Regina from Tulsa, Oklahoma

DISAPPOINTED

There were highs and lows. If I didn’t already know the story line, I would not have been able to follow because the music was so loud you couldn’t make out what the singers were singing on most of the songs. The dancers were good though. The ending was not what I expected.

3.0 star rating Brian from Bozeman, Montana

AMAZING PERFORMANCE - TERRIBLE SOUND QUALITY

So disappointing to (almost) hear such a talent group of actors and musicians in an amazing production of Jesus Christ Superstar. The sound was underwhelming. We all strained to hear their amazing voices. At the same time, I am not sure if it was the tom toms on the drums or an actual bongo player, but whatever it was drowned out the rest of the performance - like watching JCSS in a construction site. So disappointing. All that work ruined by a lousy sound engineer. PLEASE fix it. And bring up the volume just a bit, please - especially on your amazing vocalists. The whole thing lacked .... energy.... (except the energetic bongos....). Amateur sound - ruined an otherwise great night.

3.0 star rating Joshua hokkanen from Denver, Colorado

MEEH

Joshua bess as jesus there were times where his voice was lost cut vilal notes short then hit a long note seem to sing like Justin Timberlake not a rock star disappointed judas was good Mary has a voice but lacked the emotion the role needed . Barabas was good herod shined and pilot were high points not the greatest birthday

3.0 star rating Active Theater Goer and Performer from Tampa, Florida

A PASSION PLAY REVIEW: A MIXED BAG OF PERFORMANCES

The portrayal of Mary left much to be desired. Her rendition of "I Don't Know How to Love Him" felt lackluster and disconnected, resembling more of a high school production than a poignant moment of introspection. We yearned for depth and emotion, something to capture the essence of Mary's struggle. Similarly, Jesus's character fell short. An androgynistic man, his portrayal lacked the intensity that the role demands. His soft singing voice and timid demeanor failed to evoke the power of the iconic figure he represented. The dancers were a bright spot yet, the director missed an opportunity by not allowing the intense physical contact showing the desperate seeking healing from Jesus. As the story unfolded and Judas betrayed Jesus, we witnessed a glimmer of improvement in Jesus's demeanor. Yet, it wasn't enough to fully convince us of his conviction. Judas, on the other hand, delivered a spirited performance that resonated with authenticity. We enjoyed the show, yet it fell shor.

3.0 star rating Anthony B from York

IT WAS JUST OK

It was a decent production, but both Jesus and Judas' voices seemed strained at times and there was a great deal of wasted movement. Jesus kept picking up his guitar and putting it down at the beginning of the show and quite a bit of the staging seemed too busy and distracting. The staging of the high priests, however, was well done.

2.0 star rating from Los Angeles, California

MISSED THE MARK

I have seen this show 5 times in 50 years. I love the music. The cast did not connect to the music or the audience. While I applaud the attempt to be different, it was a big fail, especially for a 50th anniversary revival. The lead selling his music in his bio was tacky. Don’t waste your time.

2.0 star rating Ron Glickman from Los Angeles, California

BUMMER IT SUCKED

I have seen the show many times over the last 50 years. This was horrible. The cast did not connect to the music or the audience. The sound was terrible. Jesus walked around with with a guitar - mostly picked it up and put it down for no apparent reason - it was distracting. The glitter made no sense. I expected way more, especially on the 50 year anniversary of an amazing show. That the lead pitched his music in his bio was tacky. Don’t wast your time or money.

2.0 star rating Robert clark from Los Angeles, California

MEDIOCRE

my wife is a huge fan of this show and has seen it previously in many forms...i splashed out and purchased front row seats , at Pantages, to surprise her for her birthday Jesus, with a "man bun" was terrible......seemed bored ( as we were with his performance) and never quite sure of the significance of the guitar ...lacking in personality, only an adequate singing voice and easily the worst male lead i have seen in a musical ever Dancers and choreography basically saved the show......microphones with cords ?, terrible sound quality could go on and on but if you haven't bought tickets yet then save your money I generally love musicals but not this production

2.0 star rating Coach Owens from Baltimore, Maryland

JCS MISSES THE MARK!

Hi everyone! Well after 50 years of this great musical last night was the pits! Simply put, the band was great minus the guitar playing Jesus and Pilate. The use of hand held microphones was "Bush League" and definitly a distraction. Jesus' voice was all over the place! Judas was just a little better. Ted Neely and Carl Anderson are rolling in their graves. Mary was okay, but ive heard better. Believe it or not I did like the Choreography. It was diferent, fresh approach. The chorus, background signers were awesome! Caiphas and priests saved the scenes. Finally, I know it was opening night, but the show started 12 minutes late!!!!!!!! I totally missed the first ten minutes because I had to go to the mens room and got locked out!!!!! Next time, I'll bring a portable unrinal !!!!!!!! PS: The two stars are for the music!

2.0 star rating John Decker from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

BIZZARE CHOICES, UNEVEN DIRECTION, WEAK JUDAS

Sometimes revivals say something new and interesting. Sometimes they transport you back in time. This did neither. Half the ensemble and cast seemed to be working with frenetic energy, and half seemed to just want the thing over with. Unfortunately, each type seemed to be randomly distributed, which was confusing. Judas emotes with all the believablity of Family Feud Steve Harvey, as played by Kenan Thompson on SNL. He was a bit all over the place vocally. If you know the show, you know that for it to work, Judas has to put the entire production on his back and carry it. Jesus was pretty good, Mary was there, Ultra-Intense-Dancer-Girl needed to be in a better, or at least different musical. The costumes were weak, the lighting design was lazy. Glitter-whipping a naked ravaged Jesus was fun, but a bit like being inside Mike Pence's darkest fantasy. Nobody understood why the moneychangers in the temple were dancing around with lighted crosses.

2.0 star rating Jillian from Minneapolis, Minnesota

DISAPPOINTING ATTEMPT AT "MODERNIZING" JCS

JCS is my FAVORITE show. I have seen many amazing productions. This was not one. Jesus in a hoodie & man-bun was not convincing and seemed almost a lazy portrayal. Why did he keep picking up the guitar only to put it down again...random and confusing. Mary grew on me, as did Pilot. Herod was a disappointment though. If anything could have turned up the volume and energy it would have been Herod's Court. But even that was flat and almost felt like a Goth interpretation. One-dimensional and a grey one at that. One choice I really liked was the Priests. When they flipped their staffs to become mic stands I grinned! That was a flash of brilliance! My last comment is on the glitter lashing. Felt like a cop out... That scene is SUPPOSED to be raw and disturbing. Splashing the actor with glitter is NOT the way to portray that event. Until next time...

2.0 star rating Anonymous from Marshall, Minnesota

DISAPPOINTED

Though the music and choreography we're wonderful, I found this production to be extremely disappointing. We were seated on the main floor of the theater. Their were four of us who attended the play together. The first comment that each of had was "I couldn't understand/hear the lyrics". Being from outstate MN, I paid for dinner and and an overnight hotel stay just to attend a very disappointing production. It will be a long while before I choose to spend my money to attend an Orpheum production.

2.0 star rating Pete from Boston, Massachusetts

DISAPPOINTED

Very disappointed. For a world tour Broadway 50th Anniversary production, I would of thought it would of been better. The orchestra was good except for a few timing issues with the percussionist. Jesus with a guitar and hand held microphones took away from the connection between actors. I’d have to say I’ve seen better acting at small community theater productions of this amazing rock opera. .

2.0 star rating Lori from Washington, District of Columbia

I COULDN'T UNDERSTAND ANYONE.

I was very excited to see this show. I love musicals, but I had never seen JCS before. The production looked intriguing in the commercials so I decided to give it a try. I don't know if it was the way the audio was mixed or what, but I could not understand anything that was being sung unless the person was singing all by themselves. The man playing Pilate helpfully over enunciated everything so I could understand him. Also, Jesus didn't seem to know where he was going or what he was supposed to be doing when he got there. I just didn't feel any emotional connection to any of the characters, and I don't think they felt anything toward each other. Their voices were beautiful, but I couldn't make out the words. I wish that I had listened to the music before hand so that I would know what they were saying. It was also too fast paced. I feel like that lent to the not being able to form any connection. I wanted to love it, but I just didn't know how. Save your money.

2.0 star rating Jeffrey Smith from Arlington, Virginia

A CONCERT, NOT AN OPERA

This particular incarnation is a concert and not an opera or musical. Operas and musicals involve not only singing but also acting , and they endeavor to dramatize a story rather than just presenting song after song. If you're OK with attending a concert of oldies, you might enjoy the show. But I expected more. The lack of acting was frustrating; were the actors supposed to be portraying characters? Were they actually even actors, or were they just singers? I wasn't impressed by the choreography - continuous frenetic dancing doesn't express a whole lot. Certainly a poor substitute for having actors actually play roles. The costumes got more and more ridiculous as the show went on - King Herod as a drag queen??? Did the costume designer view the program as a comedy? I left before the show was over.

2.0 star rating Barbara from Washington, District of Columbia

KNOW THE STORY?

I hope so because otherwise it will be hard to follow. The dancing was great, the band was great, but the lyrics were often lost. It was difficult to identify the characters at times. In over 50 years of theater going, mostly on Broadway, this ranked in the bottom three of hundreds seen. The original was much better.

2.0 star rating Matt Cirillo from Atlanta, Georgia

MEH...

Let's start with the drums - It sounded like a fan who knows all the songs but isn't a drummer filled in for the real drummer, so only the parts with no drums allowed the rest of the musicians to "groove." I am enamored with the original soundtrack, so was disappointed with the liberties taken my all the singers except the Mary Magdelene and Herod roles, which were superb. Did not like the drab costumes. The rear-loge at the Fox Theater has horrible acoustics which did not help. Still it was nice to see a bunch of people performing this rock opera with passion, even if it was not to my taste.

2.0 star rating Jenn from Atlanta, Georgia

LEFT OUT THE RESURRECTION!!

Why did the show’s directors leave Jesus in death? This was so, so disappointing to us! This was the fourth production of JCSS I’ve seen and the only time The Glorified Jesus did not come back in all white and lights to a Super Star reprise. It killed the show.

2.0 star rating Lars from Greenville, South Carolina

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR – UNINTELLIGIBLE

Jesus Christ superstar – unintelligible For most of the characters in the play I could not understand what they were singing. Herod and Pontius Pilot we’re clear and quite good. Jesus, Judas, backup singers etc where garbled. Pay way to much for a play where the singing sounds more like humming. Post Covid plays see to have decreased in talent as well.

2.0 star rating Lena from Fort Worth, Texas

HAD TO LEAVE

Ensemble was average at best and had terrible diction. Jesus had no stage presence. This was a noble attempt that fell very short. Ended up leaving the theatre early because I couldn’t continue to waste my time

2.0 star rating Mysteryaudiencemember from Chicago, Illinois

HUGE JCSS FAN AND THIS WAS KIND OF A LET DOWN...

Background: I'm a diehard fan of the 1973 movie. Thought the 2000 one was awful & the John Legend one was awful. I saw the live Broadway version a few times in Chicago in 2018 and was very pleased, so was expecting the same greatness 4 years later. The overture got me excited, as expected, but then everything else was just... underwhelming. The choreography was sloppy (like group dance moves not happening in unison, like when they danced with the mic stands). I know each performer is extremely talented, but Judas and Jesus weren't singing with passion, it didn't match up with the important words they're singing about (for example, you'd think one of Judas's lines would've been more passionate like "well now I DESPISEEEE YOU!!") They also didn't hit a lot of their high notes but most of all, they all changed the melody for each song SO MUCH to add their own spin on it, to the point where was annoying. You couldn't even try to sing along in your head. It was actually driving me crazy.

What you thought

Seen Jesus Christ Superstar? Loved it? Hated it?

Help your fellow Pittsburgh Theater visitors by leaving the first review. Everyone will love you for it, we promise!

Write a review now

Nearby

Venue home

Venue home

location

Location

restaurantsDiningRestaurants
parking

Parking

hotels

Hotels

Additional Information

seating chart
SeatingSeating map

Spread the word

Sound good to you? Share this page on social media and let your friends know about Jesus Christ Superstar at Benedum Center.

Keep up to date

I want email news and updates for events in my area! Read how we protect your data.

Please note: The term Benedum Center and/or Jesus Christ Superstar as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other trademarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Benedum Center and/or Jesus Christ Superstar and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Benedum Center and/or Jesus Christ Superstar and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.