CORONAVIRUS: Latest updates here. Our 100% buyer guarantee applies to future purchases too!

Bob Dylan Reviews

Vocal & Classic PopIndie & RockFolkJazz & BluesCountry & Folk

Average customer review: 3.0 star rating (3.2 Stars)

Number of reviews: 68

Page:12345678910All

Sort:

5.0 star rating SJCL from Northeast, Connecticut

FABULOUS!

I last saw Bob about 20 years ago in Springfield, Mass at a time when he was clearly low-energy and was largely unintelligble. This time he was fantastic! Nonstop wonderful music, great projection,, (mostly) recognizable lyrics, a great choice of songs mixing old Dylan standards, new Dylan masterpieces such as Duquesne Whistle, and old American Songbook titles. Others have commented on the audience -- I was in the loge which had a largely appreciative though not always enthusiastic group of people.--- one of whom fell soundly asleep despite the very loud but clear sound system. Oh well, everyone gets what they need from a Dylan concert. Looking forward to seeing him again.

5.0 star rating Daniel Kalmann from New York, NY

BOB DYLAN WALLINGFORD CT 2017/06/18

So here are some of my thoughts and meanderings after last night's June 18 2017 Wallingford, CT concert. First of all, my driving time from Queens NY was over 3 hours, and because it was Father's Day (we have 3 kids, ages 14, 6 and 10 months) my wife and I had a bit of a late start and I got more and more nervous as the estimated arrival time inched closer to 8pm. We made it into the full parking lot at 7:59 where we were whisked to the VIP parking section because everything else was taken. That brought us to the main entrance within 1 minute, up the stairs to the loge we went, and as we reached the top, he walked in and started his night. I had planned to tape record, but I was not ready for it at all, so I stopped worrying about it. I had purchased binoculars for the occasion and I started looking for and easily found his Bobness. He has so many different mannerisms, his wide stance when playing the piano, wearing his silver tipped white and brown boots, in his slightly bedazzled black costume with red patches and sparkles and a wide open collared red shirt with bolo tie, behind the shiny black grand-piano that offered a reflection of himself with is hair full and not as dark as usual and his hat resting on the piano but never on his head this night, his walking between songs, when the stage goes dark, to his table with his Oscar statuette and a cup of drink, how he prepares for his next songs standing in the middle of the stage, adjusting his hair a bit, putting his hand on his hip, holding the microphone just like a crooning rock star should, stepping forwards, little shuffle dance steps, his very inspired piano playing, his It Ain't Me Babe when he strapped on his guitar (I could see in the dark that he strapped one on, I couldn't believe it, it was a thrilling moment for sure!), his obvious fitness level which is important to me as an older fitness fanatic myself, his supreme control of everything on stage, including leading his wonderful band with a flick of a look, his kind acknowledgments of his band as well, especially during his crooning song with his arm gesturing towards them, his pure showmanship, his ability to make each and every song real, nothing fake happening during this set. I was on the edge of my seat with my binocs focused on him, his band, his facial expressions, his strong singing, his switching back and forth between rocking and crooning, his intense delivery of each word, sentence, song. I felt in the presence of greatness all night long, I wanted to soak in each moment, who knows how many times the answer will continue to be blowing in the wind, it was maybe a tad too short but so worthwhile, he will forever be the greatest song and dance man, there will never be another Bob Dylan and I was fortunate to spend almost 2 hours in the same room. Thank you Bob Dylan, for the over 50 years of providing me an anchor for this crazy world, for enlightening me, entertaining and confusing me, for rocking my world, for reaching levels of greatness that have always encouraged me to be the best I can be, and that made me come to New York City from Amsterdam exactly 40 years to the day today. Forever Young, my friend, forever young!

5.0 star rating Sean from Newport, Rhode Island

BOB AND HIS BAND WERE PUMPING

This is the third time i've seen Bob, all since 2000. Each time I've enjoyed it for his willingness to play anything anytime and in any arrangement. He's such a clever writer and clearly enjoys the art of making music. Last night was especially good b/c the band was pumping. Bob never introduced them, presumably it was his usual group of Stu, Charlie, Tony, Donnie and George, but they were fantastic. The music was sharp all night long. Interestingly, Bob never played guitar or any other instrument other than the piano. When he wasn't on the piano he stood in crooner style--awesome, As for the crowd, I was in middle of row 3 left side and the folks in rows 1 and 2 were so close that they couldn't see above the stage, which is why they stood so long. It was kind of annoying, my view of Bob was blocked at times, but when has it become "proper" to sit during a concert? Also, I didn't hear any chatter, except in between songs. It was a great show.

5.0 star rating Andy from Hartford, Connecticut

GOOD

excellent man

5.0 star rating Mitch Walker from Toronto, Ontario

BETTER THAN EXPECTED

There are a lot of negative comments out there so I was a little worried about my first Dylan concert. Fortunately this night turned into one of the highlites of my 65 years. Great seats (7th row center floors) thanks kids. The visuals and the sound was impeccable. The band wore matching suits which contributed to the early sixties nostalgia. What a band! The arrangements of Bob's originals were twisted into fresh new sounds that were heavenly and cast a spell over me. Bob showcased the lyrics in a voice that was beautiful in a unique and honest way that dispelled all pretentiousness. The only thing I was disappointed with was how quickly 2 hours went by.

5.0 star rating from Winnipeg, Manitoba

BOB DYLAN AND BAND WINNIPEG CONCERT

I had a seat in the middle of the Floor area and loved it! The performance by Bob and his band was the most moving experience to me as a fan and spiritually! He IS a master reaching our souls with his words and music ! God bless you Bob and your family and your band ! You ARE our voice of our souls ! James Perch and family , Winnipeg , Manitoba , Canada

5.0 star rating James Yansick from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

ICON DELIVERS IN PHILLY

I’ve seen the man often since 70’s - to compare him to any period is pointless. The poet performed exceptionally well at the Met Philly. Old met new - it was a sweet show - strong clear voice - band runs like a well oiled machine - 3rd Show In last 3 years - better than last 2. I will note it helps to always be in first 5 rows - I’ve been fortunate to secure those seats last few shows. He’s always great in smaller venues but they are rare these days ( stopped that 2000) but once in awhile he’ll do one. It’s Dylan - only one - never another whose mind / words still evoke change and demand the listener tune in turn on - or drop out! Ty Zimmermann for a fantastic show!

5.0 star rating Mr. Jones from Riverside, CT

FANTASTIC SHOW AT THE BEACON!

Attended the Friday, November 30, 2018 show at the Beacon and was blown away. My first time seeing Bob in 40 years (Fall '78 at Madison Square Garden)...shame on me, but I still had kept up with Bob's artistic journey through the years. I had listened to some of the bootlegs of recent shows (Springfield, MA, Waterbury, CT, and the preceding Beacon shows) and really liked what I was hearing, especially Bob's voice, the new arrangements of some of his standards, his harmonica work and, of course, his fantastic band. As a result, my excitement kept building in the days leading up to the show. Every expectation was met and exceeded...Bob and the cowboys were magnificent. Loved every minute and wished the show would have gone on for another two hours. Was a date night with the wife and even though she's not a Dylan fanatic, she enjoyed the show, especially the slow ballads. Thanks, hon...I owe you one.

5.0 star rating Jessi from New York, New York

CLASSIC VINTAGE DYLAN

Anyone who thinks Dylan was anything but great last night, November 24, 2018, at Beacon Theater just really doesn't know Dylan at all. Dylan is a diva and does whatever he wants, whenever he wants. That chutzpah is what makes him the great Bob Dylan, however he changes his tunes. He has the same great voice, which cannot be said of many 77-year-olds, and the same musical and poetic genius. It was a slightly different Dylan but a great show. My only disappointment is that he didn't say even a single word to his audience.

5.0 star rating Octo from Long Island, New York

AWED

The 11/23/18 show was amazing. Dylan's voice sounded better than I've heard him in a couple of years and he connected strongly with the audience. The band was great as usual. Dylan played good keyboards and lots of harp! The lyrical changes were emotional and thought-provoking. I think the lyrical "updates" to "When I Paint My Masterpiece" make more sense if you know the original words. Then the metrically more complex "rhapsody" line literally rhapsodizes into the direct-to-the-heart "beautiful" phrase, continuing ongoing Dylan themes of creating beauty and also reaching for an exalted state. So for me, that particular new line works best as an addition to the old, with the assumption that the audience knows the original. Overall, this was a rock show not a poetry reading, despite the poetry. My husband and I were extremely moved emotionally. The songs took on new meanings in this time. I cried during some of the songs. We were both amazed and thrilled to have experienced that night.

5.0 star rating Bill from Houston, Texas

DYLAN IN SUGARLAND NEARLY AS SWEET

Finally saw the real and best live Bob Dylan at the Smart Financial center in Sugarland last night. All day I had this good feeling knowing Bob had picked although a very fine venue for live music, a little bit small compared to Coachella in the California desert, or anywhere else this Nobel prize winner could easily fill. The lights went down and then the guys just assumed their places on stage and Bob set up shop behind his full piano and immediately they launched into what would be the tightest and cleanest delivery of Bob Dylan’s music catalog. No hat this time, just a full head of his trademark hair and at age 77, it made me wish for some. Now you normally hear people complain they can’t understand him, but tonight he was as crisp and as clear as you could hope for. I will try and come back with the setlist later and break it down, but for me the holiest Of holy is “ Like A Rolling Stone”. Bob did retool it but in a superior sound and emotionally. Best version in years.

5.0 star rating Bob Neylan from Tucson, Arizona

IT WAS AN AMAZING NIGHT AT TUCSON MUSIC HALL ON OCT. 5

I love the show. I have seen Bob many times over the years, and this show was up there with any of them. Bob was energetic, fun, and sounded great. I was entertained from start to finish. It did my heart good to see someone that I care so much for sounding and looking so well.

5.0 star rating Tucson Tom from Tucson, Arizona

DIDN’T EXPECT MUCH BUT LEFT BLOWN AWAY!

I saw Bob last time he was in Tucson in 2006. Pretty disappointing show saved by Merle Haggard. So wasn’t expecting too much but wanted to see him anyway for old times sake. Well, I shouldn’t have worried. Bob was in fine voice and form, the band was tight, the staging was perfect, the Music Hall was a great venue to choose, and the playlist should have satisfied everyone. My wife and I gambled on front row seats and we rolled 7’s on that decision. About 5 minutes to 8 the band assembled on stage, with Bob behind a full size grand piano. Staging was excellent. Ringed by large old style Klieg lights, Bob’s hair, back lit like the many images of him in the 60’s, was a joy to see. Sans any facial hair he looked damn good for his age and sounded even better. I looked over to stage right, and there, almost out of view was Bob’s Oscar for The Wonderboys on a small black table. Next to it was a white plaster head of a woman. Don’t know the significance of that but if you do let me know!

5.0 star rating Robert bloom from New York, New York

A ROCKIN AND SUBLIME SURPRISE

completely blew me away,,a beautiful voice believe it or not was the biggest surpise articulating every word and note w a beautiful deep rich vibrato adding depth to the gravely chortle of recent past ...he alternates rocking swingin tunes w the big band kicking ass behind him ,,,driving intensity fresh as ever,,then ballads followed after every rocker,,he was mid stage,,,holding the mic like early elvis,,,and those quirky strange intriguing stances movements Marva staples told us to look out for,,,watch bob !!! she said during her rousing first set.. the show was amazing,..dylan becomng Elvis Sinatra tony Bennett Fred Astaire,,,bing Crosby,...yet ever uniquely himself,,always new and lately greatly improved,on what always worth going to.. the voice and new showmanship made the evening really special,,,i never thought i would ever enjoy Dylan crooning like he does now,,better than on any album,,this is a cat who is at the top of his game and relishing it as much as we do..glad i went

5.0 star rating Judith Barrett from Buffalo, New York

BEST. CONCERT. EVER.

It was all about the music. None of those irritating strobe lights, costume changes, philosophizing nonsense. I loved the way he arranged and sang his older well known songs. It truly was a unique experience to listen to a true musician play and sing his songs. He also sang some jazz songs that were so beautiful and moving. I loved this concert! I loved that I got to see Bob Dylan live doing what he does best, be himself, have fun and live in the moment. His band is excellent. I had so much fun just listening to the music!! Great concert!! I would recommend to everyone to see him perform live!!

5.0 star rating Christine from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

INSPIRATION AND INNOVATION--DYLAN ROCKS!

Bob Dylan proved his musical and poetic genius during his concert last night in Upper Darby, PA. Unbelievable passion was palpable as he rocked the house with innovative music. For those wanting a throwback concert, well, they don't know Dylan. He was among the first of artists who continually reinvent themselves--only his innovation is in the music not his persona. He wove an experience for those who really listened, weaving his new songs and American standards together for an amazing sound and experience. Love this man and his unconventional ways--and the fact he is true to himself and a true inspiration. We listened to what will undoubtedly be new classics--Dylanesque Brilliance. And the evening started out oh so right with Dylan's long-time friend and musical powerhouse herself, Mavis Staples, taking center stage. What a memorable night!

5.0 star rating Angela from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

TOWER SHOW NOVEMBER 11,2017

This was a great show Bob sounded great Played the Piano Wonderful The Band was on fire. Just lots of Love from the Fans.

5.0 star rating from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

LIKE A ROLLING STONE

Last night was full of reverence for his poetry's universal appeal, hence Dylan's Nobel Prize for Literature. I've had the privilege of seeing Bob play venues from Little Rock (with Willie Nelson to his paying tribute to Les Paul at Fat Tuesdays in NYC in the '90s. The show last night was one of his very best ever. I won't repeat all the other 5-star reviews' accolades (the band's impeccable tight sound, etc.). I only add this. I never thought I would hear Bob sing a couple of Tony Bennett's set list classics: "Autumn Leaves" and "Once Upon A Time." Not only was his delivery rich and majestically reverent, his words were clear, his tone poignant and nostalgic, his voice deeply resonant--an epic spiritual journey throughout. Thank God for Bob Dylan. Amen.

5.0 star rating Rene Vallieres from Salt Lake City, Utah

SLC 10/17/17

I've been listening to Bob since 1964. Brought my Bob records to college in 1966 and was almost booed out of the dorm by upper classmen who were into Smokey Robinson. My wife and I had a great time last night at the concert in SLC. Mavis was great as usual. The first thing that strikes you about Bob and the band is how tight they are. They play with an amazing precision. Others have commented on Bob changing the arrangements of his classic songs like Tangled Up in Blue and Desolation Row to the dismay of some. I knew this was coming following him for so many years. But what surprised me is that he mostly played the last song of the night pretty straight up - Ballad of a Thin Man. The melody was recognizable. He has ended his concerts with this song for years. I had to smile knowing he loves to wink at his audience with a mischievous twinkle in his eye "You don't know what's happening. Do you Mr. Jones?" Written with affection - Mr Jones

5.0 star rating Annette from Santa Barbara, California

SANTA BARBARA BOWL 2019

My husband and I went to the Santa Barbara Bowl to see Bob Dylan, I wasn't sure what to expect from reading some earlier reviews from past concerts and his age but I was truly amazed, I loved every minute of this concert, he came on and didn't speak to the audience, he just starting playing and did not stop once, song after song....played his piano and harmonica...he and his band were wonderful, I wanted it to just go on an on..I loved it so much!!

5.0 star rating JlS from Denver, Colorado

AMAZING!

I saw Bob Dylan in Denver at the Mission Ballroom. Everything about it was amazing. It was a perfect venue, the acoustics were great. Dylan was in fine form. His voice sounded wonderful (craggy sublime in the best sense) and his band was off the charts. Very tight. An unforgettable experience to see this legend.

5.0 star rating Carleen D. Mejza from Providence, Rhode Island

AWESOME PERFORMANCE

I loved the Providence RI concert ❤️Your awesome stage presence and beautiful deep resonating voice touches my heart. I am a big fan of new renditions of your songs, giving an instinctual feel to them. I have learned 55 of your songs on guitar these past 2 years. I love each song as a piece of lyrical art and never tire of them. Thanks for touring my way Bob. 🎸🎶🎸🎶. #bobdylan

5.0 star rating Joe Sweeney from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

HIGH PRAISE FOR UNCLE BOB MET 11/21/19

Wow, wow and wow. I have seen Bob at least 30 times. Constantly changing, always pleasing and surprising. Last night though, he outdid himself. The band was fabulous with two new members. The Setlist was killer with songs from every genre of Bobs, past and present. Even an emotional version of Lenny Bruce. This was the first show of all that Bob didn’t do Like a Rolling Stone and probably the best show in 5 or 6 years. Bob played the guitar on a couple although it wasn’t necessary. Obviously he’s trying to be considerate of us. We had great seats and the sound was very good too. Once again high praise to my hero and biggest musical influence.

5.0 star rating Liane Nouri from HIllsdale, New York

PURE ART AT THE BEACON

What a performance! More than I could have imagined. Dylan and his band were phenomenal. Dylan was passionate, heartfelt, energized for his age and a great performer. His voice was pure Dylan. No bullshit. Loved his piano playing. Sad to read other reviews of the Beacon show. There was an overwhelming amount of selfish, mean criticism. To my fellow Dylan fans… here's a hint… be grateful to Bob and all he has given us through his lifetime. Honor him. Be sympathetic to an aging man ( yes… he's actually a human being ). Put your selfish entitlement aside. Who cares how much you paid for a ticket and that Bob didn't meet your expectations. You're not entitled to any more than Dylan has and wants to give you. And he gave me a great night warming my soul with his music. His band was fantastic. They too should be honored and respected. For me… this show was pure art and more than I ever expected! Here's to Bob, his band and beautiful music! Liane Nouri

5.0 star rating John Gerald Patrick Oconnor from Philadelphia Pa

DYLAN DOES DYLAN

Bob Dylan s performance at the beacon, was one of his finest shows ever , unadulterated Dylan . Great harmonica playing, guitar playing and absolutely incredible piano . Dylan give s you 100% Dylan and a large repertoire of Dylan from all Dylan era s from early 60 s to 21st century classics only Dylan could write and perform . songs such as simple twist of fate and things have changed open the show with a phenomenal sounding band and a voice from a legendary poet songster. Dylan brings the audience along a long body of his work to include highway 61 , ballad of a thin man and then to classics such as try to get to heaven before they close the door to late thunder knock out songs such as ain t dark yet and thunder mountain . this show showcase the work of a extrodinary poet ,singer, songwriter and song and danceman . I go ever night if Ihad the money . Thanks Bob it was surely a great show .

4.0 star rating S. Costa from Middletown,Connecticut

THE SPIRIT OF 76

MY husband and I spent 220.00 each for good seats right behind the sound technicians ..we were dead Center and had a great view of Bob and the band. The show began PROMPTLY on the dot of 8:00 which I felt was courteous to the crowd who continued to dribble in nonstop throughout the show which is always so annoying. The crowd was friendly, courteous and really pleasant where we were. I was annoyed by this one girl in the front row who danced and played with her hair while standing for the entire show. We were thrilled with his voice which sounded better than ever and his band is wonderful appreciated a nice encore but really would have liked a " hello" or a goodbye" from him...and also did expect at least one of,his big songs at the encore ..like LIKE A ROLLING STONE or MR TANBORINE MAN. All in all, we loved him and felt like we had a real,treat to be treasured for many years to come!

4.0 star rating Patrick Easterling from New York, New York

THANK YOU, BOB DYLAN!

“Precious memories, how they linger How they ever flood my soul In the stillness, of the midnight Precious sacred scenes unfold” Tonight Dylan shares some memories with us, in his own way – the memories floods his soul. Like when he makes us listen to a renewed and melancholic “Like A Rolling Stone”, in a version where he stops and starts, amplifies the final words of each verse, making the existential strength of the refrain even stronger, one of the highlights of the night. Another highlight, maybe THE highlight of the evening, is his almost solo piano version of the now hymnlike version of “Don´t Think Twice, It´s All Right”. Each verse gets ovations, his voice is strong, he paints each line like it´s a masterpiece, and he roars the ending words as powerful as ever. It´s difficult for me to name one version of this song that´s made a deeper impression. To tell the truth, I copied the above, but I can't write or think as well! But me and the wife's 5th show in 35 years! Thanks!

4.0 star rating Jay Dee from Utica, New York

ZIMMERMAN AT THE STANLEY. A GOOD SHOW AND A GOOD TIME!

Robert Zimmerman can't be fit into boxes. A wise fan doesn't go to his concerts seeking exact renditions of fifty or sixty year old songs. Bob at the Stanley last night was his old irascible self with a new or different take on "old" new? songs. The last time I saw him was with Willy Nelson in Cooperstown in 'o4. Back then he was starting concerts with "Sweet Marie". Last night started with "Things Have Changed" and sequed into ditties with updated versions and twists. It Ain't Me Babe, Simple Twist of Fate, When I Paint My Masterpiece, were all garrulous and conversational with heavy bass overtones. He was lucid and clear voiced throughout but he was sans guitar and although he blew a harmonica frequently, seeing him again on the twelve string would have been nice. No one seemed to care that we were most of us old last night, we're younger than that now. As the required encore Blowing in the Wind played, we were blowing with Bob. Can that ever be a bad thing?! Thanks again Robert!

4.0 star rating Kathy from Arlington, Texas

GOOD SHOW

My first time to see Bob Dylan. The venue is lovely. Good restaurants nearby. I was disappointed Bob Dylan did not play Knocking On Heavens Door. The arrangements of his songs were greatly different from the originals, so hard to recognize. Still a wonderful show seeing a rock legend.

4.0 star rating Chuck Benge from Tucson, Arizona

ICON DYLAN

Sounded best in the three times i’ve Seen him since late 60’s. If you expected the Dylan of old and no change, get with it people. Band was great. Dylan on piano and harmonica great. Gonna take this to my grave. Thank you Bob Dylan!

4.0 star rating Dave from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

GOOD SHOW!

Bob is still an excellent performer. If you was expecting the harmonica, guitar playing version you were disappointed. His voice is excellent these days and he still has his quirks that lets you know he is still Bob Dylan.

4.0 star rating J RO from Denver, Colorado

IT'S DYLAN!

Better than we were expecting. His voice was pretty good, after warming up after a few songs. If you took this at concert value, taking away how this man has inspired the US music scene over decades, it was OK. Definitely not the best concert I've ever been to this year, but somehow, that isn't the reason for attending a Dylan concert. It's more about appreciating his legend. I won't ever go to another of his concerts, this was enough. Parts of the concert were weirdly like Bob Dylan doing karaoke trying to impersonate Bob Dylan. It was entertaining in a weird way. Bob really shone through in his up-beat rock and roll style songs, those were the peak and when his voice sounded most powerful. If you've always wanted to see Dylan, go see him on this tour. If you haven't, absolutely don't go.

4.0 star rating Charles from South Bend, Indiana

GREAT EVENING IN THE BEND WITH BOB DYLAN

Enjoyed ever minute of the show, great mix of songs, tight band! So glad i went. The creativity of the american legend/poet still inspires me, thanks Bob Dylan!

3.0 star rating Veronica from Hartford, Connecticut

BOB DYLAN

Oakdale should do a better job of monitoring alcohol consumption and seating latecomers, so as not to interrupt the enjoyment of those who arrived on time and were respectful of the performance. Good to see and listen to Nobel-Prize winner Bob Dylan, but it would have been nice if he had a few lines of interaction with the audience. Maybe he didn't like the crowed, either.

3.0 star rating Deb J from Hartford, Connecticut

NOT A REAL DYLAN FAN

I am not a true Bob Dylan fan but I have known his music. I went to the concert with a real Bob Dylan fan. I myself enjoyed the experience of seeing a music legend. I am not a true "fan" as mentioned so I did have some disappointing moments and that was I wasn't able to see him as there were no live screens. I would have loved to see him up closer. I did read that someone who had closer seats had to deal with some people who were disrespectful. I would have and should have paid the extra money to be closer to the stage. There are really no issues with any of the other aspects of the concert. I need to mention that the real "fan" said that Dylan is typically not a show person, I respected Dylan for who he is. This was a nice lesson in appreciation of the art of music for me.

3.0 star rating Don from Newtown, Connecticut

NOT WHAT I WAS EXPECTING

I thought the show was pretty good, but not great. I went in with a preconceived expectation. I last saw Bob in concert with his "Rolling Thunder Review" tour in 1975. It was around the time that "Blood on the Tracks" came out. The show was vibrant and electrifying. Bob was playing his current music at the time, as well as many of his older works. That show was electrifying. I expected that he wouldn't be the same, however I was unprepared for what I saw and heard. He has taken a penchant for "standards" from the forties and fifties covering the likes of Frank Sinatra et al. Bob was never a crooner but he gave it a shot. He played a few of his more well know works with vastly different arrangements. His voiced seemed strained. He just turned 76 so I can't complain too loudly, but it shows. I have a lot of respect for him and his earlier music. I had been listening to Bob's music the whole week before the show. I had psyched myself up, but came away wanting more.

3.0 star rating Annonymous eclectic music lover from Providence, Rhode Island

BOB DYLAN & THE BAND

THE BAND WAS AWESOME! Song choices , not so much ! Mr Zimmerman, that's not your ERA ! Your not a CROONER, you're a Folk Rock a Pop star Poet Laureate, and you're rearranging of classic jazz blues and STANADRDS - like you once danced the Fox Trot Cha Cha Cha or Jive on a ball room floor is a bit pretentious, on your part, and a bit disrespectful to the actually CROONERS of that ERA. But the songs that YOU WROTE & rearranged are always yours and it's always YOUR PERROGATIVE to do with them as you please! It's your performance your reputation and BTW, yoiu're a terrific poet, but you're not a god of music . Play you're own originals and leave the others the respect they've earned to have theirs left alone. BUT, YOUR BAND IS AWESOME AMAZING AND ACCOMODATING.. I won't pay that much money for some one to butcher the vocals of Autumn Leaves and such . Enjoy your tour but don't forget the FANS who paid hard earned cash to hear a few tunes from the Era that made you your fortune

3.0 star rating St stephen from Norwalk CT

BOB WAS GREAT. THE CROWD WAS ABHORENT

Bob did a great show. He sang well and despite the microphone incident and the piano stool incident the show was great on stage. The audience was a very different story. Why would you pay those prices for the first 3 rows and talk the entire time?!? I personally believe it's because of 2 reasons. The first is that these folks don't get out much and so they spend the entire 110 minute show conversing about it. The second is that you are a fan and are trying to convince a non fan that this is great. The only thing is that you don't get out much so you try to do it while you are out. News flash people!!! I didn't pay this kind of money to see a concert to hear your chit chat. I didn't pay this kind of money to hear you butcher the song with your out of key singing. Shut the F*%# up!!!!

3.0 star rating The Complete Unknown from Detroit, Michigan

TANGLED UP IN BOB

High on Amphetamine stuck inside another Bob Dylan Dream. Clutching my pearls hoping for no more schemes. I make sure I pay the parking meter this time because I can’t afford another fine I Pray for a sign from God then “The Weight” from the Last Waltz comes on the channel as I listen to The Band sing to Fanny looking out the window at this new strange motorsport land Hoping Bob isn’t up on Black Mountain while I made a wish in the fountain by the banks of Belle Isle I thought I found Paradise for free. but like most things nothing is free even love has it’s price my love is the hole in my bucket ooh yeah baby don’t you dare miss it! when the lights start to flicker you better forget about that liquor The doors to heaven appear to be closed thinking man this really blows I hear someone say the doors will open after the song is over they open and some people go inside Then I hear him sing it ain’t me, Babe and the doors close once again I feel like bargaining with the devil tears fill my eyes wondering how much longer I have to wait. the doors open and I make a Bee line to Bob. I can’t believe it! He acts like we’ve never met my eyes get watery and wet while Bob Revisits Highway 61 for the 1870th time wondering how the hell he can memorize so many lines I guess if you play them a lot they get stuck which is probably how he got the Memphis Blues again since he stayed in MS a day too long hoping I don’t end up like Gypsy Lou lord knows I’ve paid my dews getting through Tangled up in Bob. all I did was Wiggle wiggle like a Gypsy Queen all dressed in Green Mr. JOnes pushed the chair from behind me and almost fell to my knees Then comes a swarm of staffers that tell me I gotta leave or they’ll call the police I gather my things and walk down that long lonely isle Some people were High 5ing me and smiling like I was part of the show. but man it sure felt like I just took a big blow that’s when I let out a terrible scream and Bob just continues to sing Ballad of a Thin Man to Mr. & Mrs. Jones for 1165th time. What good am I starts to come to my mind then I shut softly my watery eyes hoping the pangs of my sadness will pass but I end up breaking just like a little girl

3.0 star rating Mike from Akron, Ohio

THANK YOU BOB AND BAND

Haven’t seen Bob in 20 years and am thankful Bob came to Akron.Beautiful theatre, but the sound mixing was terrible. Bob’s voice couldn’t complete with the guitars. The band sounded great and despite the other negative reviews on the subject, I’m glad that Bob has found a way to reinvent some of his classics. WAy too short of a show!

3.0 star rating D. Greene from New York, New York

DYLAN'S BAND DROWNS HIM OUT

The Band has some great musicians, but they and the sound level just drowned Dylan out. Part of why I love Dylan is the poetry, and no matter how loud he tried to sing, you just couldn't hear/understand the words. And the arrangements for each song were thumpingly similar.

3.0 star rating Dunkirk from New York, New York

DYLAN AT THE BEACON

It was the tenth Dylan concert I attended since 1992. Of those, maybe six were electric and the other four were not. The Beacon performance was not electric. He seemed rickety as he gingerly navigated the stage between numbers. His voice started out gravelly almost beyond recognition and then became much smoother as the evening progressed. The show was not his best performance of recent (for instance, last year he was much more engaged and energetic in Asheville, NC). The band, led by lead guitarist Charlie Sexton, was superb. I can't imagine a better back up band in all of rockdom. And, Dylan is an American legend and icon. I have discovered that a Dylan concert is never a sure bet. What is certain, however, is that you can expect the unexpected. As a huge fan, especially since Blood on the Tracks in the 70's, it took me halfway through almost every song to figure out what number Dylan was playing. I know that can irritating to some, but I find it fascinating how he likes to scramble the formula for each song, no matter how sacred. As far as a Dylan concert goes, it was what it was.

2.0 star rating Heidi from New York, New York

DISAPPOINTING

While I can't bring myself to give this musical genius a 1-star, it's probably a more accurate rating of this show. As other viewers have said, he was not interactive and barely intelligible. While he's always spoken much of the content in his songs, there was no attempt to sing at all. You could barely understand a word. Making it even more difficult was that the songs were rearranged to such an extent that they sounded like a parody of a Bob Dylan song, and you could not understand even the most well known songs. There was no audience acknowledgment at all. If you are considering purchasing tickets and have not already, I would save your money.

2.0 star rating Marylee from New York, New York

TIME TO GO FISHING

Thought I was in the "name this tune" show. Although Bob Dylan is an accomplished song writer and musician, he has little stage presence and maybe has no regard, really, as to what an audience would like to hear. He apparently changes up his songs to please himself but failed to entertain the rest of us. The band was rockin’ but what is the point of hearing the iconic artist of such wonderful songs go off into some alter musical reality? I love Bob Dylan but like a lot of renowned folks who hate to retire, it's simply time. Bye Bob, I'll continue to love your songs on recordings and not pay $200 for inarticulate, narcissistic machinations.

2.0 star rating Markus Perez from Houston, Texas

NOT SO GOOD

Sorry but you Dylan fans are probably not going to like this. That concert in Sugar Land, TX sucked. Dylan has always mumbled but it was difficult to make out anything he sang, especially when his band, which one can tell is very talented, drowned him out on half the songs (lead guitar). In addition, none of his songs sounded like any of the vinyl records I still own. It is fine to change things up and re-compose for a live audience but sheesh, you could tell he was in his seventies and just doesn't have it any longer. Can't believe we blew that much money on center seats orchestra. Absolutely cannot recommend seeing him. I'm a life long fan and just don't understand the other gaga reviews. The guy needs to retire. God knows he doesn't need the money.

2.0 star rating CDM from Houston, Texas

DYLAN AT SMART FINANCIAL, SUGAR LAND

Not what you would hope for, nor expect. I would say disappointing, but nothing should be unexpected from Dylan. He has morphed himself so often over the years, changing styles and screwing around with songs until they're practically unrecognizable. It's a shame to me however. So many good songs, unsung, left of the set list. The ones he keeps, as said, changed and, unfortunately, not very good. Save your money. Listen to his old stuff and be happy with it.

2.0 star rating Larry Walker from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

YOU GET WHAT HE GIVES YOU

I went to the Heinz Hall show in Pittsburgh with high hopes but low expectations. My expectations were barely met. After the show I came to this realization. Dylan doesn't give you what you want. He doesn't even try to figure out what you want and get it wrong. He doesn't care. He gives you what he wants - take it or leave it. I didn't like it but wasn't surprised.

2.0 star rating Scott Smith from Santa Barbara, California

CAN'T SING

The band was great...but, seriously, his voice is completely shot...and I would challenge anyone to tell me they could understand a word he uttered the entire evening. He's a legend....but, at 78, he's no performer. Sorry, that's the truth.

2.0 star rating Mike Lane from St. Louis, Missouri

STL 10.22.19

His band sounded good, his harmonica playing was still mostly good. I couldn't understand more than a few words that came out of his mouth, growling garbled noises was all I heard. I couldn't recognize any of his songs. It was still fun because it's been years since we have been to a concert. So if your just going for a good time you don't mind hearing all of his old songs changed into 12 bar blues that are mostly unrecognizable then go to the garden party you wont recognize his songs but you will know his name. "but it's alright now learned my lesson well ya see you can't please everyone so ya got to please yourself." He seemed to please only himself.

2.0 star rating Neal from East Northport,NY

DYLAN AT THE BEACON 11/26/2019

My wife and I are big Dylan fans but last night was very disappointing. Unfortunately his voice is gone and he changed the arrangements so much it was hard to recognize any songs. The concert started around 8PM and was suppose to go til around 10 but my wife and I agreed and we left at 9

1.0 star rating Dave & Molly from Montreal, Quebec

EXPECTED SO MUCH, RECEIVED SO LITTLE

Dylan has always been one of my favorites. This was the 3rd time seeing him in Montreal, I was ready for another treat. Had fabulous $$$ seats 100 feet from Bob. The lights came up and there was Bob dressed in white, standing in front of the black, grand piano banging out his first tune in a surprisingly low pitch, gravely voice. His guitar lay across a chair a few feet away with his white brimmed hat atop, We would never hear that guitar or see him with hat on. Instead he alternated playing old and new songs either sitting or standing at the piano then grabbing a mic stand at the back wall of the stage as far from his audience as possible as he crooned old American standards. I came to see Dylan play guitar and sing like he meant it. Not a single word was uttered to his fans, not a smile, not a nod. Between songs he shuffled to a table to get a drink, hanging on to equipment as he walked. He looked old and disinterested. What an utter disappointment for me and my girlfriend.

1.0 star rating P. A. C. from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

SELFISH, DISENGAGED & UNDECIPHERABLE DYLAN AT THE MET PHILA.

When the best part of your concert event is the newly renovated Met and the outstanding food at Osteria, you know it's going to be a bad night. A 60th birthday present from my daughter who is a singer and astute listener of all music. She knows how much I love Dylan's music and wanted to take me to see him for the first time. It was an utter embarrassment. Dylan voice itself was as good and raw it's always been but we couldn't understand a word as he mumbled and garbled every word. His arrangement changes on some songs such as Like a Rolling Stone, were shockingly discordant to the essence of the song. And for 1 hour and 30 minutes, as we sat hoping things would get better, he didn't muster one single word of welcome, thanks, or appreciation to his audience of 3,500. As we walked out on Bob 30 minutes early, he had me feeling badly for my daughter who certainly lost some respect for one of the musical heroes I spent years extolling. Bob my friend, it's time to retire.

1.0 star rating Ian Mitchell from New York, New York

ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE

First off I am not a huge fan of Dylan but I was still looking forward to seeing him. As soon as the concert started I was straining hard to understand him. I was hoping that he would get himself together and not mumble but that never happend and my friend and I walked out and were very upset. We were in the second balcony almost at the last row and still paid about 140 with taxes and "convenience" fees and Dylan was just terrible the whole time. I have never walked out of a concert before but I just had to this was a terrible experience and Dylan should be ashamed and Beacon Theatre art should consider refunding people.

1.0 star rating V from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania THE MET

WHAT A MOUTH FULL OF MARBLES

I would have walked out but paid so much for excellent seats. We thought the sound would get better. You couldn’t understand ANYTHING he sang. Epic FAIL

1.0 star rating Annette from New York, New York

TERRIBLE

1st time seeing the iconic Bib Dylan. Didn’t recognize any of his hits. Didn’t understand any of the lyrics sung. He never said a word to the audience who paid too much money for his concert weeks before Christmas . Hey Bob....stop touring. And by the way....you’re welcome for the donation to your already large bank account.

1.0 star rating Tribeca Fan from New York, New York

DYLAN’S AT THE BEACON

Have seen many great concerts at the Beacon. When the place gets rocking the energy fills the concert hall. Sorry to say it did not happen on Thursday Nov 27th show at the Beacon. Agree with much of what others had said. While it was wonderful to see the legend, it was a low energy show and many of those sitting in expensive seats around me left early.

1.0 star rating Christian from New York, New York

WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY

What a disaster it was last night at The Beacon. Please save your money. Terrible show. His voice was off and the band was way not as good as I remember. I barely knew 3 songs, my girlfriend one song. You suck Bob !

1.0 star rating Martha Moran from New York, New York

I'D GIVE THIS ZERO STARS IF I COULD. PATHETIC. SOULLESS.

Completely devoid of any energy or effort on Dylan's part. Every single song was arranged the same, had the same tempo and the same (non) melody. It was incredibly boring. Dylan clearly put little to no effort into the show or the rearrangements of his greatest hits. He said not one word--no welcome, no thanks, did not introduce his (very good) band. I guess he's laughing all the way to the bank.

1.0 star rating Marc from Houston, Texas

APPARENTLY THE MELODY DOESN'T MATTER.

Imagine Paul McCartney singing Helter Skelter as a country Ballad. How about The Rolling Stones singing Jumping Jack Flash as a '60s surfer number. How qbouaFrank Sanatra singing Shena is a Punk Rocker. Now imagine those shows being done without even acknowledging that an audience was there except to insult and intimidate you about not taking pictures. If you would like these shows, then you will like the current Bob Dylan show. The melody is so unimportant that there's no need to introduce the band.

1.0 star rating Mag Ranft from Columbus, Ohio

BOB DYLAN IN COLUMBUS

Very disappointed. Bob's back up band was great but overpowered the vocals. Favorite songs were rearranged so as to be almost unrecognizable and the "crooner" songs were bad. He lost most of the audience after about 4 songs...many left to avoid the end of concert rush. However, Mavis Staples was great! She waked up the crowd so that Bob could put them back to sleep.

1.0 star rating Sarah from Columbus, Ohio

GROSSLY INACCURATE VISIONS OF BOB DYLAN

If you attended Bob Dylan's concert last night at the Palace Theatre expecting to see a lounge act and almost unrecognizable versions of Desolation Row and Tangled Up in Blue then you got what you paid for. If, like me, you were hoping to see Bob with his harmonica and guitar playing Just Like a Woman, Don't think Twice it's Alright, Like a Rolling Stone, Knockin' on Heaven's Door...ANY of his songs - in their original arrangements - that define him as one of the best poets/storytellers/lyricists to ever live, then you were left absolutely heartbroken like me. Before going to the show, I had heard that for years Dylan hasn't been great live, that he doesn't acknowledge or interact with the audience, that he doesn't play many of his classics, so I guess I'm the fool for not listening to those comments and thinking my experience would be different. As I sit here today listening to live Dylan albums from '67, I can't help but cry for the artist I never got to see live. Mavis ROCKED.

1.0 star rating Liz from Salt Lake City, Utah

VERY DISAPPOINTED

My hubby is an AVID Dylan fan, and I've been hearing his music against my will for 42 years. I only understood the lyrics to the 2 "ballads" he growled out. The band was so unbearably loud...the fans were either in 2 camps--rocking and rolling or falling asleep, despite the sound level. I know the dude is old, and seeing him in concert was a bucket list thing--but I had to leave early and escape to the lobby--where met about 20 other people like me who were unhappy with his show. I know he doesn't interact with the fans, didn't expect him to, but the whole thing just seemed very un professional and sloppy. One guitar was so out of tune I wanted to weep. The "warmup" Mavis was AMAZING!! Her, I could have listened to all night. The theartre is gorgeous and we will go to events there again. Not a bad seat in the house!!

1.0 star rating Susy from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

BOB DYLAN BOB DYLAN AT THE RAVE MILWAUKEE WISCONSIN

October 26th 2019 this was extremely disappointing show Bob Dylan does not interact with his audience at all his songs were unrecognizable if I could give this a 0 star rating I would have I would not recommend his show to anyone

1.0 star rating Julie from Akron, Ohio

EJ THOMAS HALL BOB DYLAN CONCERT

My husband and I loved Bob Dylan songs of old and thought this would be a fun, nostalgic concert. We splurged for great seats in the 3rd row middle of Grand Tier. Honestly, I feel cheated on the entire evening. I could not understand one sentence this guy "sang". He grumbled and growled in his deep throaty tones. Not one song was familiar, not even one. There was no program. Maybe if the words were projected it would have been tolerable. He didn't even acknowledge the audience, with a hello, nothing at all! All in all, the evening was painful endurance of his performance! My Dylan should stop cheating his followers and hang it up!

1.0 star rating Don from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

DYLAN

Dylan show last nite at Robert Morris was garbage. Not many people would pay to hear that a second time. Living off his past and name. I left couldn’t stand the mumbling of an 80 year old. Al least he still has hair on his head. First time I saw him was LA in 1976. That was great last nite was a joke. Be honest. Townes van dant would have heckled him none stop.

1.0 star rating H Barrero from New York, New York

UN FRACASO

Bad , cold, distant, monotonous. The legend is on, the singer is out. Very disappointment. He was a shadow walking of a dessert. He was lost. The best, the beautiful Beacon Building. Glorious space of beauty"

1.0 star rating Tracy from ROckville Centre, New York

A LEGEND THAT NO LONGER ENTERTAINS 12/3/19

Dylan sings , (mumbles) to please himself. So excited to hear him perform at the majestic Beacon theatre. The theatre outshined the performer! I recognized one song out of 18. He sings NOTHING to please his fans. Not one oldie but great. Could have been a great night with just his band. So truly disappointing. He’s a legend who sang like a nobody. He can still play the harmonica with feeling!

1.0 star rating from New York, New York

DYLAN BEACON DEC 5TH

Terrible. The most disappointing concert I've seen. He butchered his songs; Dylan's "singing" was inaudible. He has a very strong supporting band that was clear constrained and restrained due to Dylan. He had no stage presence. A complete waste of money.

What you thought

Seen Bob Dylan? Loved it? Hated it?

Help your fellow Pittsburgh Theater visitors by leaving the first review. Everyone will love you for it, we promise!

Write a review now

Nearby

Venue home

Venue home

location

Location

hotels

Hotels

Additional Information

seating chart
SeatingSeating map

Spread the word

Sound good to you? Share this page on social media and let your friends know about Bob Dylan at UPMC Events Center.

Keep up to date

I want email news and updates for events in my area! Read how we protect your data.

Please note: The term UPMC Events Center and/or Bob Dylan as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other trademarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the UPMC Events Center and/or Bob Dylan and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the UPMC Events Center and/or Bob Dylan and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.